Comics: Alan Moore and Best of 2012

Standard

It has been a while since I posted on comics. I’m no longer covering the indie-comics scene in India BUT these two links were too cool to not post.

1. Alan Moore made a film and released it for free because he’s awesome like that and he likes to stick it to Hollywood. <3 It’s called Jimmy’s End.

2. Maria Popova of Brain Pickings links us to the best graphic novels of 2012. The list is here. It’s heavy with a lot of adaptations. I’m not the hugest fan of that even though I get it- it will introduce a whole new generation of readers to old classics etc etc. However, the second book on the list sounds gorgeous:

Building Stories by Chis Ware. I WANT THIS SO BAD. It’s a graphic narrative about three tenants in a Chicago apartment building: an elderly gentleman, a warring married couple and an amputee. Ware is redefining what a comic can look like. This “book” is more a collection of pamphlets, booklets and something that resembles a board game. Unfortunately, it’s out of stock at Amazon but when it’s back in stock, it will be mine.

Right now I’m reading: Habibi by Craig Thompson. It may be the most beautiful book I’ve ever held in my hands. I won’t describe it. Click the link for asynopsis and here are some pages:

Talk Back

